COMPLETE LIST: 5th Wish 107.5 Music Awards Nominees

Dec 14, 2019

While music is constantly evolving, one thing remains the same: The undeniable range of musical talent and artistry Filipinos are gifted with. This collective talent — and passion — of the country’s musical acts have brought the OPM scene to where it is now.  

Continuing its tradition in its fifth year, the Wish 107.5 Music Awards will once again recognize these people who have given significant contributions to the thriving music industry. The annual event honors the best Wishclusive performances, songs, and artists.

For the 5th WMA, which is slated on January 19, 2020 at the Mall of Asia Arena, over 60 acts are vying for 18 categories. The eligibility period is from November 1, 2018 to October 31, 2019.

The winners will be determined via text votes (30%) and votes from a select panel of judges (70%). The voting period will be from December 16 until January 17, 2020, at 12 noon.

Check out the complete list of nominees below:

Wishclusive Pop Performance of the Year 

  • SB19 – “Go Up”
  • Inigo Pascual – “Catching Feelings”
  • Jaya – “Tayo Pala Talaga”
  • Malaya Macaraeg – “Baga Ka’g Face”

Wishclusive Ballad Performance of the Year

  • KZ Tandingan – “Quicksand”
  • Music Hero – “KLWKN”
  • Juris – “Paano Kung”
  • Jayda – “Happy For You”

Wishclusive R&B Performance of the Year 

  • Michael Pangilinan – “Rainbow”
  • Quest – “Permanente”
  • Justin Vasquez – “Love”
  • Kiana – “See Me”

Wishclusive Rock/Alternative Performance of the Year 

  • Typecast – “Mulat Na Mata”
  • Mayonnaise – “Tayo Na Lang Dalawa”
  • IV of Spades – “Bawat Kaluluwa”
  • The Ransom Collective – “I Don’t Care”

Wishclusive Hip-hop Performance of the Year 

  • O.C. Dawgs – “Pauwi Nako”
  • Pricetagg (featuring CLR) – “Kontrabida”
  • Alex Bruce – “Pull It Off”
  • ALLMO$T – “Dalaga”

Wishclusive Contemporary Folk Performance of the Year 

  • Clara Benin – “I Rose Up Slowly”
  • Rice Lucido – “Heto Na Naman”
  • Pinkmen – “Hanggang Sa Muli”
  • Ben&Ben – “Mitsa”

Wishclusive Urban Performance of the Year 

  • Ben&Ben – “Pagtingin”
  • KZ Tandingan – “Nag-iisa Na Naman”
  • Lola Amour – “Pwede Ba”
  • Arthur Nery – “Life Puzzle”

Wishclusive Collaboration of the Year 

  • KZ Tandingan, Shanti Dope – “Imposible”
  • Clara Benin, Munimuni – “Solomon”
  • Moira, I Belong To The Zoo – “Patawad, Paalam”
  • Morissette, Darren Espanto – “A Whole New World”

Wish Pop Song of the Year 

  • “Take It Easy” – Janella Salvador
  • “Karera” – TJ Monterde
  • “Ikaw At Ikaw Pa Rin” – Sam Mangubat
  • “Kahit Ayaw Mo Na” – This Band

Wish Ballad Song of the Year 

  • “Ikaw At Ako” – Moira, Jason Marvin
  • “Regrets” – Julie Anne San Jose
  • “Diyan Ba Sa Langit” – Morissette, Jason Dy
  • “Punas Luha”  Earl Generao

Wish R&B Song of the Year 

  • “Binhi” – Arthur Nery
  • “Fly You To The Moon” – Justin Vasquez
  • “Maybe A Little Bit” – Ylona Garcia, Jay R
  • “Filipina Girl” – Billy Crawford, James Reid, Marcus Davis

Wish Rock/Alternative Song of the Year 

  • “Nagbabalik” – IV of Spades, Rico Blanco
  • “Huling Sandali” – December Avenue
  • “Sanity” – Lola Amour 
  • “Bukod-Tangi” –  Unique Salonga

Wish Hip-hop Song of the Year 

  • “Urong; Sulong” – Kiyo, Alisson Shore
  • “Pati Pato” – Shanti Dope, Gloc-9, Chito Miranda, DJ Klumcee
  • “‘Yokona” – CLR
  • “LATINA” – Al James

Wish Contemporary Folk Song of the Year 

  • “Kapit” – Armi Millare
  • “Ayaw” – syd hartha
  • “An Opportunity To Go To The Moon” – Reese Lansangan
  • “Wait” – Over October

Wish Urban Song of the Year 

  • “Rumours” – Nathan & Mercury
  • “Sway” – Paolo Sandejas
  • “Don’t Let Go” – Memphiis
  • “Blithe” – Keiko Necesario

Wish Breakthrough Artist of the Year 

  • SB19
  • CLR
  • Munimuni

Wish Group of the Year

  • Ben&Ben
  • IV of Spades
  • This Band
  • December Avenue

Wish Artist of the Year

  • KZ Tandingan
  • Moira
  • Inigo Pascual
  • Clara Benin

As in the previous installments, the WMA will again give a cash prize of Php 25,000 to the major award winners, and another Php 100,000 to their respective beneficiaries.

Special Recognitions

Apart from the major awards, Wishclusive Elite Circle awards will also be given to honor acts whose Wishclusive videos have garnered at least 10 million views during the eligibility period.

The 5th WMA will also pay tribute to industry heroes through two new special awards, which are named after the main man behind Wish 107.5 — Kuya Daniel Razon.

The KDR Icon of Musical Excellence Award aims to recognize an industry luminary who has left an indelible mark in the music scene through his/her/their exemplary contributions. The KDR Icon of Music and Philanthropy Award, on the other hand, shines the spotlight on a person or a group that uses music to positively impact the lives of others. 

The 5th Wish 107.5 Music Awards is happening on January 19, 2020 (7 p.m. PHT) at the Mall of Asia Arena, with performances by KZ Tandingan, Moira, Morissette, Julie Anne San Jose, Ben&Ben, IV of Spades, Janine Teñoso, This Band, Unique, Nathan & Mercury, and fast-rising American pop and R&B star, AJ Mitchell. The awards night will be directed by Paolo Valenciano and hosted by Gretchen Ho and Christian Bautista.

Note: This article has been updated on December 18 to amend the end date of the music awards’ polling period.

Related Articles